New game idea collection
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Game Design/Theme Ideas

3 posters

Go down

Game Design/Theme Ideas Empty Game Design/Theme Ideas

Post by Tooleman Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:53 pm

I've been kicking around an idea for a game for about 10 years or so now. I've gone back and forth between two names: Kings and Pawns or City States. My favorite is Kings and Pawns.

The game takes place in the medieval time period and on an island with one central city and the rest of the cities along the coast. Mainly because the biggest pet peeve of my game is the number of clicks needed to move from location to location. Here everything would be easily accessible by one click.

The central city is the hub of the island where there are forests, fields, mines, etc for resource gathering. Each coastal city would be able to be claimed by a kingdom (equivalent of faction/guild/etc) and only those members would be able to work there. Nodes would operate similarly as in Drakor with a set amount of resources to be gathered before they need to respawn.

Kingdoms would gain levels from the work their citizens do. They would also have special advantages based on the type of kingdom (magician (longer spells), elf (reduced logging times), dwarve (reduced mining times), warrior (reduced recruiting times), nomad (reduced gathering times), etc). This would be a one time selection for free, then would need donator tokens to change in the future. For each 10 levels of kingdom experience, they can open another node with lower times than general population ones or add one alliance.